Navigate Up
Sign In Section Home Port Home Contact Us

Joe McWilliams

Managing Director, Real Estate Division​

Joe McWilliams is the managing director of the Real Estate Division, covering a real estate portfolio that encompasses development sites, central waterfront properties, greenbelts and parks, Bell Harbor Conference Center and Marina, Shilshole Bay Marina, Harbor Island Marina, Fisherman’s Terminal, and a variety of office, retail, and industrial properties.

This division assists the airport and seaport divisions to assist with acquiring, disposing of, or otherwise managing their real estate holdings. In addition, the Real Estate Division is responsible for facility management of the port headquarters at Pier 69, fleet management and Seaport Maintenance.

Prior to joining the port, McWilliams was the Southwest regional manager (Arizona, Oklahoma, and Texas) for PHAROS Corporation, a fee-for-services real estate firm providing acquisition services for infrastructure development for government and railroad clients.

McWilliams was one of seven project directors on the Seattle Monorail Project before the project was retired. During his tenure, along with establishing the acquisition protocol and real estate operational policies for the agency, approximately $70 million worth of real estate was acquired for station locations and the seven acre operations base.

His experience in commercial real estate includes managing the local operations for Cushman and Wakefield, 12 years at Wright, Runstad and Company with a portfolio that extended from Anchorage to Los Angeles, and east to Boise and 10 years with Gerald Hines Interests of Houston, culminating with responsibilities for properties in the Midwest, Chicago Region.

McWilliams has a business management degree from Texas Tech University and is a past president and trustee of Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA), Seattle and King County; former chair of the Downtown Seattle Association Metropolitan Improvement District and the Business Improvement Advisory Board; and former trustee of the Lake Washington Technical College Foundation Board.