Navigate Up
Sign In Section Home Port Home Contact Us

Environmental Excellence Awards Program

The Sea-Tac Airport Environmental Excellence Awards Program highlights and recognizes airline, tenant, and business partner environmental stewardship efforts for the 2015 calendar year, and the critical role their accomplishments play in meeting our goal to be “The Green Gateway.”
Sea-Tac is an environmental pacesetter and leader—committed to creating a sustainable airport that minimizes the environmental impacts of our operations. The Port of Seattle is committed to integrating environmental considerations into all aspects of its strategic planning and business decision making, including its relationships with business partners.

2016 Award Winners

The Port of Seattle congratulates Alaska Airlines, HMSHost and Hudson News for going above and beyond to protect and enhance the environment at and around Seattle-Tacoma International Airport by awarding the companies with its sixth-annual Green Gateway Environmental Excellence Awards. In 2015, HMS Host and Hudson News donated nearly 40,000 pounds of food to local non-profit groups, while Alaska Airlines saved up to 2 million gallons of fuel while reducing CO2 emissions by more than 14 tons annually.

For more information about the contributions each company made in 2015, please read the press release here.

Pictured from left to right: Port of Seattle CEO Ted Fick; Commissioners Stephanie Bowman and Tom Albro; Alaska Airlines and Horizon Air Sustainability Manager Jaqueline Drumheller; Commission President John Creighton; Alaska Airlines and Horizon Air Managing Director of Gov't Affairs Megan Ouellete; and Commissioners Courtney Gregoire and Fred Felleman.

From L to R: HMSHost Operations Director Chris Keaton; Port of Seattle CEO Ted Fick; Commissioners Stephanie Bowman and Tom Albro; HMSHost Sr. Director of Ops. Eric Waldon; Commission President John Creighton; and Commissioners Courtney Gregoire and Fred Felleman.

From L to R: Port of Seattle CEO Ted Fick; Commissioners Stephanie Bowman and Tom Albro; Hudson News General Manager Jacob Carlson; Commission President John Creighton; Hudson News Regional Food and Beverage Manager  Scott Holben, and Commissioners Courtney Gregoire and Fred Felleman.